Australian Motocross Championships Sanford

16 november 1974, South Arm Road, Sanford - tasmania
1975 Gaston Rahier - 3 times Australian Motocross Champion
1975 Gaston Rahier - headshot

Photo: Reigning World 125cc Motocross Champion Gaston Rahier toured Australia in 1975, winning three National titles in Tasmania.

Reigning World Champion Rahier steals the show at Australian Championships

Reigning World 125cc Motocross Champion Gaston Rahier from Belgium won three Australian Motocross Championships at the South Arm Road circuit in Sanford, Tasmania on 16 November 1975.

Earlier that year he participated in the first ever 125cc Motocross World Championship and clinched the title with eight wins. With the sales boom of the early seventies beginning to significantly affect motocross, Rahier and a host of international riders then toured Australia to promote the new Japanese lightweight motocross machines.

The international riders included fellow Belgian Gerard Camal and Japanese development rider Masanori Ozeki, all on works Suzukis. Also present were Vic Allen on a string of Bultacos, Gualtiero Brissoni on a SWM 125, Per Klitland (Denmark, Yamaha) and Ivan Miller (NX, Yamaha).

Rahier demonstrated why he was the world champion by winning all three titles he contested, and lapping the whole field in two of them.

The best showing by a local in the Rahier-dominated events was that of young Western Australian Greg Thomas (Suzuki), who put in an inspired ride in the 125 event to split up the works riders of Rahier and Camal to come second.

Steve Cramer (VIC) won the only title which was left, the 500cc race, beating Per Klitland (Denmark) and Mike Landman (VIC) in a Yamaha clean sweep.  Ivan Miller came second and third respectively in the 250cc and Unlimited classes.

The first restricted Licence Holders (Junior) title was held in 1975 and South Australian Don Bowey narrowly defeated Tasmanian Scott Stephens. 

The visiting troupe brought with it an inescapable message – fitness was vital in European motocross. 

Click above to contribute results or content to the Australian Motocross History website, or email:

Australian Motocross History Logo

To receive FREE Australian Motocross Championship list updates, eNews and new video releases.

Subscribe Australian Motocross History Website News
Steve Cramer (Honda Elsinore) behind Gary Flood (Bultaco)

Rahier hardly raised a sweat in any of his Australian rides, including his Australian Champs triple. 

Once some riders began training hard, everyone had to follow and we started seeing the emergence of elite professional Australian motocross riders with Stephen Gall from New South Wales leading the charge.


Victorian rider Steve Cramer was the only Australian to win a National title in 1975 – winning the 500cc class.

Wasps start to take off in the Sidecars

The mid 1970s saw the emergence of the British Wasp outfits and the end of the Murray William’s era in the sidecar class.

New Australian Wasp importer Stephen Smith from Ballarat, and his passenger Jim Colligan, were the standout team at Sanford on their Norton Wasp.   They won the Unlimited class ahead of John Delima – K. Heres (VIC, Norton) and N. Heenan – J. Dewett (Honda).

In the 650cc (Junior) Sidecar class, Smith – Colligan finished third behind South Australians Kevin Taylor – Peter Menz (Yamaha Wasp) and fellow Victorians Darryl Bergmeier – Ian Awty (VIC, CCM Wasp).

1975 Australian Junior Sidecar Champions Kevin Taylor and Peter Menz SA

South Australians Kevin Taylor and Peter Menz (Yamaha Wasp) won the 650cc Junior Sidecar Championship.

1975 Australian Senior Sidecar Champions Stephen Smith and Jim Colligan

Victorians Stephen Smith and Jim Colligan (Norton Wasp) won the 1000cc sidecar title  and finished third in the Junior class .

1975 Australian Motocross Championship Results


1 Gaston Rahier (Belgium, Suzuki)
2 Greg Thomas (WA, Suzuki)
3 Gerard Camal (Belgium, Suzuki) 


1 Gaston Rahier (Belgium, Suzuki)
2 Ivan Miller (NZ, Yamaha)
3 Gerard Camal (Belgium, Suzuki)


1 Steve Cramer (VIC)
2 Per Klitland (Denmark, Yamaha)
3 Michael Landman (VIC, Yamaha)


Gaston Rahier (Belgium, Suzuki)
Victor Allen (UK, Bultaco)
Ivan Miller (NZ, Yamaha)

Juniors (RLH)

1 Don Bowey (SA)
2 Scott Stephens (TAS)
3 Not known

650cc Sidecars

1 Kevin Taylor – Peter Menz (SA, Yamaha Wasp)
2 Darryl Bergmeier – Ian Awty (VIC, CCM Wasp)
3 Stephen Smith – Jim Colligan (VIC, Norton Wasp)

1300cc Sidecars

1 Stephen Smith – Jim Colligan (VIC, Norton Wasp)
2 John Delima – K. Heres (VIC, Norton)
3 N. Heenan – J. Dewett (Honda)

Other Australian Championship results and photos

Click on the links below to view Australian Motocross Championship results back to 1953, event photos or rider profiles.

Australian Motocross Champions List

Photo Gallery Australian Championship Events

Australian Motocross Rider Online Feature Stories

Stay connected through social media

Mr Motocross
Legends and Stars

Mr Motocross Legends and Stars

Old Stars WA
Motocross Group

Old Stars WA Motocross Group

WA Motocross

Western Australian Motocross Memories

Legends of

Legends of Sidecarcross

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *